How many players have scored a century in all 3 formats of international cricket


How many players have scored a century in all 3 formats of international cricket
Cricket is one of the most popular sports in the world, especially in countries such as India, Australia, England and South Africa. This sport has a rich history dating back several centuries, but one of its most notable developments is the introduction of different formats for international competition. Currently, there are three main formats recognized by the International Cricket Council (ICC): Test matches, One Day Internationals (ODIs), and Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is).

The Different Formats

The oldest and most traditional format is the Test match. Its origin dates back to 1877 when Australia played against England. Each Test match can last up to five days with each team having two innings or turns to bat. The result might still be a draw if neither side manages to win by the end.

One Day Internationals were introduced in the early 1970s to provide a shorter, more exciting format that could cater to audiences who couldn’t devote five days to watching a single cricket match. As their name suggests, these games are completed within a day with each team allowed only one inning which lasts for approximately 50 overs.

Lastly, T20Is were formulated even later — in the mid-2000s — to further attract audiences interested in an even faster-paced game. In this shortest cricket format, each side gets about 20 overs for their respective innings.

Scoring a Century in All Three Formats

In cricket terminology, scoring ‘a century’ means reaching at least 100 runs individually during one’s turn at bat. Not surprisingly, it represents a significant achievement in any cricket player’s career because it demonstrates both skill and patience.

Remarkably though, achieving it in all three diverse formats defines an exceptional class of cricketers because it requires adaptability – transitioning from the slow-paced strategic gambit required in Test matches to the fast-paced aggressive approach required in T20Is.

Full Video in Youtube

An exclusive club of international cricket players have managed to score a century in each of these three formats. As of 2023, the number stands at just 14 players who have attained this exceptional feat. Some of these names include Chris Gayle from West Indies, Brendon McCullum from New Zealand, A B de Villiers from South Africa, Mahela Jayawardene from Sri Lanka and Rohit Sharma from India among others.

Significance of the Achievement

Scoring a century is always something special and elicits hearty celebrations on the field. But achieving it across all international formats reflects the great consistency and adaptability over both long and short innings on varied pitches under different conditions worldwide.

Rohit Sharma was quoted as saying after joining the century-in-all-formats club: “It certainly feels great to achieve this landmark. It’s not easy scoring a hundred in any format, not to mention all three. You need to remain focused, be disciplined and keep your game flexible.”

Meanwhile, AB de Villiers has also expressed how he values his centuries equally across all formats as they came against challenging bowling attacks and under intense pressure situations.

Future Prospect

As T20 continues to grow in popularity around the world due to its shorter duration and fast-paced style, we’ll likely see more cricketers aiming for more centuries across various competitions.

Regardless of the format though, one can feel certain that members being added to this prestigious century-in-all-formats club will continue commanding respect within international cricket circles – because after all, talent shines regardless of game length or pace. Scoring a century takes immense patience, excellent shot placements, good physical condition, mindful temperament — but most importantly — an enduring love for the beautiful game of cricket.

Rate article
Cricket Time
Add a comment